Race report – New York Marathon 2006

2006 – New York City Marathon
Places: 37,869
Position: 4,209
Time: 3hr:30.02
Tony Whitman from LloydsTSB in Brighton bet me a meal at his favorite Indian restaurant if I could run a sub-3:30 marathon. I was 3 seconds off, but after putting my feet through approximately 33,000 steps I figured I could be forgiven the 3 seconds. Anyway, thanks to Tony, his bet and our Monday training sessions in the South Downs, I achieved my goal. As training distances became large, I would run from work to Tonys house on the edge of the downs, train on the hills and then back to Brighton train station – often wet and cold back to London. I always enjoy my races and whilst a 3:30 personal best is not fast to many runners I was pleased to say it was one of the most enjoyable races to date. A cold 5:30am queue near Times sq for the bus to the start, 2 hour wait (mostly spent queuing for tea to keep warm), spectators the whole way around, ‘high fiving’ kids, quiet Jewish community (where they turn up in their thousands but do not clap!), the mile in the Bronx hearing “cummon man, get a move on”, very different culture from the Manhatten “well done, keep going!”. All round a really varied, fun, world class course

Leave a Reply

