Race report – Bupa Great North Run

2007 – The great north run half marathon, my 30th Birthday
Places: 35,777
Position: 21,664
Time: 2hrs:18
I was lucky to have all my best friends come and join me for my 30th Birthday in the Lake district, then a few of us went on to run the Great North run. I had hired a convertible Mini Cooper S and had lots of fun with that on the windy roads connecting the lakes with Newcastle. In fact the drive was in some respects better than the race which, what with wearing the dog suit and having a cold was one of the worst experience’s and I vowed very to run in fancy dress again. Still we all had a good night out drinking, I managed to take out a camera man due to having zero visibility in the suit, and John&Matt ran the half in a great time. It’s also amazing that the races attracts over 35K runners, to cope with that many means running along wide motorways which let’s face it is pretty boring!

Leave a Reply

