Race Report – Marathon de Mont Blanc 2009

2009 – Mont-Blanc Chamonix Marathon
Places: 1,415
Position: 859
Time: 7hr:01.09

Performance wise you might think I had the worst race so far, far from the truth, in fact it was one of the best races I have ever done. Given the winner did not show up until 4hrs:03:00 this was a seriously mountain race. Total of 2511meters of vertical ascent (1300decent), makes it one of the toughest in europe. The photo directly below is the picture from Vallorcine, from here you dip down to the bottom of the photo before the final ascent up to the finish at Planpraz. It was in this race I had my first experience of cramp. It was horrible, anything more than a run sent a shock through my muscle and I had to stop fast before the cramp set in. It was a very hot day and the scenery was spectacular. This race started my love for mountain races.


Leave a Reply

