Race Report – CTS Suffolk – Endurancelife

Photos of some of the race (I stopped half way through as my fingers were wayyyyy too cold to press a button), with a few very important points:

1) The race had so many muddy sections which I’ve no pictures of, I simply at those points didn’t have the camera in my hand (and my fingers were frozen solid!).  The mud and seriously strong winds made this Coastal Trail Series (CTS) race just as challenging – well nearly – as the other CTS challenges which I highly, highly recommend btw.

2) Never during a muddy section say “mate, look over there [then points whilst taking eyes of the muddy trail and pointing to his home town]” – basically Saxon fell over and it was really funny.  Can’t beat seeing a friend fall over in mud 😉

3) Kris, stop entering the ultras!  I felt good at the marathon finish but am still completely incapable of passing the finish line to continue the ‘ultra loop’.  I had fun watching Pete and Saxon head onto the Ultra loop though, then I went for a lovely cuppa tea 🙂  Sorry I didn’t get to see you finish guys,  I cheered people on for 40 mins or so then Kelly came in a bit sorry for herself and we headed out of the cold to the car when she got in.  Great running with you all though for all those miles.

4) Well done  to Kelly, Alistair, Saxon, Pete and Emily (who dropped Saxon and I in spectacular style 4 miles before the marathon finish), she’d seemed really excited half way round when she saw an Ice cream van so can only assume she got Mr Whippy fever and legged it to the ice cream van when she felt the end in sight.  Also a quick thanks to the Endurancelife aid station supporters who were as usual full of smiles, yet had to stand in the cold for hours watching hords of runners scoff mini jelly babies like it would improve the weather or something. But they were great and helped me fill my bottle a few times which was nice.  It was good to see Paula from the Serpie group helping out at the finish – thanks.  Something to do with Endurancelife not taking account of which runners started at what times, though as usual they are always very accommodating to not DNF you and allow to to finish in a different race catagory if things get tough (i.e. I’d entered the Ultra but i will appear in the Marathon results).  Sorry not to catch up with Mari, I said I’d find you before the start but our paths didn’t cross ;(

One point of criticism though, pleaseeeeee Endurancelife expand the range of items you provide at the aid stations, or at least ensure they are well stocked, when I got to one point at a low point they’d run out of electrolyte powder – there was just an empty box.  Lie to me “you dont have any”, fine!, just dont leave an empty box and have no replacements!  Still, today was an example of another fine example of EL’s  ‘follow the arrows’ unmistakable route markings which make running hassle free and any enjoyable experience.

I hope you all had a good day – here are a few memories.

DSCN1358 DSCN1357 DSCN1356 DSCN1355 DSCN1353 DSCN1352 DSCN1350 DSCN1346 DSCN1344 DSCN1341 DSCN1339 DSCN1338 DSCN1336 DSCN1335 DSCN1333 DSCN1332 DSCN1330 DSCN1329 DSCN1322 DSCN1320 DSCN1319 DSCN1318 DSCN1312 DSCN1309 DSCN1308 DSCN1306 DSCN1304 DSCN1303 DSCN1302 DSCN1301 DSCN1299 DSCN1297 DSCN1292 DSCN1290 DSCN1285 DSCN1284 DSCN1283 CTS Suffolk - Endurancelife CTS Suffolk - Endurancelife CTS Suffolk - Endurancelife CTS Suffolk - Endurancelife CTS Suffolk - Endurancelife CTS Suffolk - Endurancelife CTS Suffolk - Endurancelife CTS Suffolk - Endurancelife CTS Suffolk - Endurancelife

Windy, boggy, trail running - brilliant ;)
Windy, boggy, trail running – brilliant 😉

5 responses to Race Report – CTS Suffolk – Endurancelife

  1. rob says:

    Hi Kris. Wow impressive running CV! We met you in the beggining stages of this run. I totally agree with extending the range of choice at the stations. Just when I needed a much needed pick me up, all the end stations could offer me was water, water and more water!

    Keep running…rob

  2. Emily says:

    Hahahah I’m famous now?? Good to see you again, Great pics, until the next Ultra (ops I mean marathon) ;0)

  3. Emily says:

    Oh and yes – highlight of the run – Saxon falling in the mud………..:0)
    Good Luck with the move.

  4. Wow, love all the pictures and the detailed write up. That’s some beautiful terrain…at least when I am not having to run it all. Nice work!

  5. cattfield says:

    Is this not Sussex – rather than Suffolk? Beachyhead is in Sussex and Suffolk is somewhere different right? Or am I getting muddled?!

Leave a Reply

